Cake Is Bulging....please Help.

Decorating By IrishEyes Updated 6 May 2008 , 1:32pm by Loucinda

IrishEyes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
IrishEyes Posted 5 May 2008 , 11:41pm
post #1 of 9

I am very new to cake decorating and I have a newbie question. When I put the fondant on, it sags terribly and the cake and filling bulge out under it. Someone told me to let the fondant sit for 24 hours before I try to put it on. Does this sound correct? Should it be in an airtight container, or just covered with a towel or plastic wrap? As far as the bulging cake goes, I really don't know what to do. Would torte-ing the layers help? If so what is the best way to go about that?

I have a graduation cake to do for the alternative high school that I work at. It is not due until June 6th, but the pressure is on. I really don't want to disappoint. The design of the cake is a 3 tier, stacked cake covered in all black fondant, the trim around the bottom of each layer will be 2 inch green ribbon. I am sewing another thin silver ribbon around the middle of it that says congratulations. The last cake I did was also a 3 tiered easter cake and it was pretty much a disaster. I donated it to my son's fundraising event at school. It was a really big hit, but it really was not that good.

I am told that you guys on cakecentral are the best. I am really hoping that someone can help me out. ANY suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Oh, and one more quick question.....in your opinion, is it better to color the fondant before hand, or airbrush it on the cake?

Thank you all so much for your time.

~Andrea

Here is my previous attempt

8 replies
smab109 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
smab109 Posted 5 May 2008 , 11:49pm
post #2 of 9

Looks like the fondant is to soft. Try adding more powdered sugar. and yes, let it sit overnight. Wrap it very well in saran wrap.