This Might Seem Like A Silly Question, But About Smoothing..

Decorating By DoniB Updated 20 May 2008 , 11:45pm by sugarshack

DoniB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DoniB Posted 5 May 2008 , 3:36pm
post #1 of 13

Okay... I've been decorating off and on for 25 years. Only recently have I been able to get my frosting really smooth.

Am I the only one that takes half an hour to get it just right, or am I just that slow??? icon_razz.gif The reason I ask... I've watched several videos recently, and they go over and over and over, but they speed the show up quite a bit while they're perfecting their smoothness.

See? Told you it's a silly question! I just want to know if I'm missing some vital step, or if it really does take that long to get a really flawlessly smooth cake? icon_razz.gif

12 replies
LanaC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LanaC Posted 5 May 2008 , 3:47pm
post #2 of 13

I think smoothing a cake is the biggest PITA imaginable. I've tried method after method, changed recipes, crumb coated, hot knifed, paint scrapered - you name it. Some times it works like a dream, and then the very same technique on the very next cake will end up looking like junk. I spend more time on smoothing than I do on anything else and it worries me to death because I want it perfect.

You're not alone. I feel like I need a smoothers support group.

foxymomma521 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
foxymomma521 Posted 5 May 2008 , 3:57pm
post #3 of 13

Yes, it takes me FOREVER, but I noticed the biggest difference when I started sifting my PS and using Sugarshack's method for making icing...

CakeDiva73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeDiva73 Posted 5 May 2008 , 4:01pm
post #4 of 13

I also think this is the hardest part. I have a frosting that everyone loves but it doesn't smooth well. The ones that smooths like glass, doesn't taste as good. So do we want the cake to look perfect and taste eh or look eh and taste perfect?