Did Anybody Go To Johnson And Wales?

Business By Katied75 Updated 8 May 2008 , 12:58am by kats0916

Katied75 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Katied75 Posted 2 May 2008 , 5:50pm
post #1 of 17

I am currently a Stay at home mom, and my plan has been to start graduate school in about a year, complete a 2 year part time program, and head back to teaching in 3 years, just as my youngest starts kindergarten.

Here's the thing: I live only about 20 minutes away from Johnson and Wales in Providence. I am a complete novice cake decorator, but from what I can tell my state (MA) licenses in home bakeries.

I LOVE baking and decorating. I've been toying with the idea of pursuing baking and pastry art at Johnson and Wales instead of my graduate degree, with the idea that in 2 to 3 years I could open a cake shop from my home.

Here are my questions:

1. Is it worth going to a bakinga and culinary school and pursuing an associates or possibly bachelor's degree to learn how to be good cake decorator? Being a stay at home mom, I can't get much practice time at home. I also tend to learn much more quickly when I have somebody to ask questions of. My thought is that with a professional program, I would have time without the kids around to really practice and learn. I'd have world class teachers to learn from.

I'm just not sure how good I can get at cake baking and decorating after completing a program like this. Since it's a baking and pastry program there are classes on breads and pastries, not just cakes. I don't know if it's a waste of time and money. However, it might be the only way I can really get the time and teaching I need to get good.

The program will cost me $20,000 for one year, and possibly up to $35000 total to take all of the cake classes offered and pursue my undergraduate degree. I'd have to make enough money with a cake shop to make these loans worth it. Could I leave a school like that and have the skills to open a shop and start earning $2000 plus a month?