I Know They Need To Get People In The Classes, But Really...

Decorating By DoniB Updated 2 May 2008 , 5:54pm by TexasSugar

DoniB Posted 2 May 2008 , 11:15am
post #1 of 17

I just need to vent and see if I'm over-reacting here...

Last night, I was in my local Michael's. Met someone in the cake aisle and started talking. Very nice chat, very nice lady, all was good. I mentioned that while I've been decorating for awhile, I have yet to master gumpaste and fondant. She'd taken the class, so I asked her about it. About the time someone else entered the aisle, we were done anyhow. She told me the new person was the teacher and to ask her about it.

So I asked the teacher about the fondant/gumpaste class, and asked whether I needed to take the course 3 first. She asked if I'd taken course 1. Well, no. I'm self-taught, but I've been decorating off and on for 25 years. I did take course 1, but it was when I was 12. (I also tried to take it again several years ago, just for the certificate, but ended up teaching the teacher how to do a few things the very first class, so that was a waste of time and money...*sigh*)

So without bothering to ask what experience I DO have, she said I need to start at one and go through all three courses before taking 4. icon_eek.gif