For Profit Or For Love?

Business By Atan Updated 2 May 2008 , 1:10pm by Atan

Atan Posted 2 May 2008 , 3:34am
post #1 of 5

Sorry, I know I just posted a business question but I've got another one...

For those of you in the you find that you are making a pretty good return on your initial investment or are you just breaking even and doing it because "I love what I do"?

I'm just starting out and pretty scared about the future of the business. I know forecasting and planning has a lot to do with it but I just want to hear some input and see if anyone sees a GREAT return for their effort!

4 replies
littlecake Posted 2 May 2008 , 3:55am
post #2 of 5

I'm supporting myself and the business.

I wouldn't waste my life on something that wouldn't give me a profit....

are you already in business?...or just thinking about it?

Solecito Posted 2 May 2008 , 4:18am
post #3 of 5

I have a home based cake business and I love doing what I do, but I think that if I didn't make a profit it wouldn't be a business, it would be just a hobby. Don't you think?

indydebi Posted 2 May 2008 , 11:41am
post #4 of 5

When you first open a business, there is normally a time period where you may not make profit while the business grows. But if, after a reasonable time period, you're just covering the expenses, then I agree with Solecito ... it's not a business, it's a hobby.

I heard Dave Ramsey say yesterday re: being in business: If you're not growing, you're dying.

Writing a biz plan is (what I considered) the required first step. It will tell you your costs and what it takes to cover those costs and then some. How many cake servings do you have to sell a month, a week, a day to cover the rent and utilities?