Tiered Cake Leveling.

Business By swoozie Updated 4 Jun 2008 , 12:09am by leah_s

swoozie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
swoozie Posted 1 May 2008 , 11:49pm
post #1 of 27

Hello all. I am rather new to this site so let me intro my self.
I am self taught decorator. I have been working at the local grocery store for a year making cup cakes, b day, retirement, grad etc cakes.
recently they decided to start doing wedding cakes.
No problem I think they just stack right???
WELL... the cakes made with seperator plates are looking great. how ever the tiered cakes that sit right on top of each other tend to have a layer lean.. or look lop sided in the end.
Any help with HOW to remedy this would be great!
Do I stack then ice? i have been icing seperate on a cake board and using dowl rods between layers. Still I get a lopper.
TIA
Swoozie

26 replies
vdrsolo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vdrsolo Posted 2 May 2008 , 3:13am
post #2 of 27

It could be a number of things, here's just a few off the top of my head:

1. The dowel rods are not cut at exactly the same length or may have been cut at an angle. Cut one dowel, and make the others that same length.

2. The dowel rods may have been inserted into the cake at a slight angle (so if they were cut even, a slight angle would actually make it shorter).

3. The cake itself (and/or the icing) is not completely level.

4. The cardboard under the cake is not thick & sturdy enough so may be bending some when sitting on the dowels.

Yes, you need to ice then stack (otherwise, how on earth are you going to ice the tops if they are already stacked icon_smile.gif )

Have your bakery look at the Bakery Craft SPS (Single Plate Separator System), they would be able to buy it in bulk wholesale, and would actually save them money by you not spending the time measuring and cutting dowels. They probably already have a Bakery Craft catalog.

swoozie Posted 2 May 2008 , 12:05pm
post #3 of 27

Thanks for these ideas.