Oreo's In Cake

Decorating By MacsMom Updated 6 May 2008 , 5:42pm by Marysmom

MacsMom Posted 30 Apr 2008 , 10:33pm
post #1 of 30

I know I ask a lot of really lame questions, but has anyone baked crushed up Oreo's mixed in cake?

I want to do this for a customer, but I don't want to waste cake if it comes out weird.

29 replies
TheButterWench Posted 30 Apr 2008 , 10:37pm
post #2 of 30

Why don' t you use the crushed oreos in the filling?

MacsMom Posted 30 Apr 2008 , 10:56pm
post #3 of 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheButterWench

Why don' t you use the crushed oreos in the filling?

I am going to, but I thought I'd also try them in the cake...

heathercarnold Posted 30 Apr 2008 , 11:03pm
post #4 of 30

I have never tried this in a cake before, but I have done that with a cheesecake and it turned out good! HTH

Jenn2179 Posted 30 Apr 2008 , 11:07pm
post #5 of 30

I did this a couple of weeks ago. They loved the cake.

dydemus Posted 30 Apr 2008 , 11:08pm
post #6 of 30

What are you going for by putting them in the cake?
It seems like it might be a weird texture. But I'm VERY sensitive about texture. I think having them in the filling would be good enough. Hmmm.

diamondsonblackvelvet13 Posted 30 Apr 2008 , 11:18pm
post #7 of 30

I vote go for it! I made a death by choco cake recently...SO YUMM! In the batter I put choco chips...very nice surprise in each bite.

Bossy Posted 30 Apr 2008 , 11:24pm
post #8 of 30

It sounds like it might be a yummy delite in every bite!

imagine76 Posted 1 May 2008 , 1:25am
post #9 of 30

it's WONDERFUL! i've been doing that since i was a kid -my friends used to request it. made it last weekend actually! i just used about half a bag of them. you can either wack the heck out of them with a rolling pin or roughly chop w/a knife. just fold them in. makes good cupcakes too! try it. you'll love it!

lanibird Posted 1 May 2008 , 2:25am
post #10 of 30