Newbie! Where Do I Even Begin?

Decorating By razzledazzle06 Updated 1 May 2008 , 6:52am by psanders76

razzledazzle06 Posted 30 Apr 2008 , 7:33pm
post #1 of 6

Can someone please help me? I have been "lurking" on this site for the past 2 months and I am AMAZED!! I want to learn how to make 3-tiered cakes with butter cream icing and fondant accents. My question is...where do I even begin? Do I need to buy a book? Take a class (if so-which one), what supplies do I need? I want to learn SO bad!! Please tell me what I need to know. You all are awesome and I admire your work!

5 replies
HerBoudoir Posted 30 Apr 2008 , 8:03pm
post #2 of 6

Hi LeAnn, and welcome!

Well..."instruction helps!" I'm a great baker, and I've only recently gotten more into learning to decorate. I'm a "hands-on" kind of person - I prefer taking classes where someone is teaching me while I do, if that makes sense.

I would say tackle some of the fundamentals first - find a few cake recipes (either scratch or box or doctored box) that you like. Learn to torte, fill, and frost smoothly with buttercream. There are a couple of different cake decorating books that have good recipes and clear step by step instructions (with pictures) about how to get started. Toba Garrett's "The Well Decorated Cake" is a great place to start - for a $15 book, it's a bargain considering how much information is in there (just don't get too intimidated by the stuff further on in the book!).

The Cake Bible is a little more expensive of a book, but totally invaluable as far as recipes for scratch cakes, frostings, and fillings. EVERYTHING is in there icon_smile.gif