How Do I...sorry - Long

Business By Winter1979 Updated 2 May 2008 , 1:05am by mjcakes

Winter1979 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Winter1979 Posted 30 Apr 2008 , 12:56pm
post #1 of 18

say "no"? I am extremely bad at this...I guess you could say I'm a pushover. People ask me to do something I always say yes and then kick myself as soon as I do...

I just started my in home bakery (legally) on April 1st, I have already had over $600 in sales, which doesn't sound like a lot, but my prices are lower than most on the sight and they haven't been huge cakes...so, that's a lot of cakes. I've had a few think that my prices are too high and go elsewhere so those have taken care of themselves, but this week I have 6 cakes in 2 days!!!!!! I am by no means a professional so they take me longer and 2 of them are pretty involved (for my level anyway). I start to tell people that I am booked for this weekend and they say are you sure you couldn't just do a small one or something? So what do I do...I cave. I've never been able to say no and I don't want to turn the business away, but holy crap this week has been nuts already and it's only Wednesday. I've been up past midnight every night since Friday (sometimes until 2 am) and I've got another 3 nights at least that will be this late. I have a 1 1/2 year old and 4 yr old at home with me so it's just easier to burn the midnight oil, as my DH works 12 hr shifts with a lot of OT.

I'm flattered that these people want my cakes, one lady changed the date of her cake just so I could do it, but it was only by a day, so it doesn't lighten the work load. I don't want to get burnt out right after I started but I am nervous to turn business away a month after I open. It's crazy last week I had 3 people go away because of price but it still ended up to be a very busy week and this week nobaody has really had a problem with prices, even after I raised them a bit...everyday is a new adventure I guess.