Total Newbie - How To Make Fondant Cherries?

Decorating By sarahparmenter Updated 30 Apr 2008 , 1:38pm by sarahparmenter

sarahparmenter Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sarahparmenter Posted 29 Apr 2008 , 8:28am
post #1 of 7

Hello all,

I'm totally new here but thought you all seemed lovely and friendly so I'll ask my total newbie question here.

I want to make fondant cherries complete with stalks - I'm saying fondant because that's the only way I can logically think to do it with my limited knowledge.

What materials would I need? Also it'd be great if they were really shiny, is there some material you can buy to do this?

Thank you in advance for any replies.

Sarah

6 replies
Petit-four Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Petit-four Posted 29 Apr 2008 , 1:45pm
post #2 of 7

Hi Sarah -- welcome!

Fondant would be a great choice -- as you know, you can buy it, but here are some great recipes to make your own:

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake_recipe-3663-16-Michele-Fosters-Delicious-Fondant.html

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake_recipe-1949-15-Marshmallow-Fondant-MMF.html

Also: the stalks -- if you want them completely edible, you could pipe thin lines of dark Royal Icing, and then carefully add them once the cherries are on the cake. Thin chocolate stems might be nice too, but I'd think they'd be near-impossible to manage unless you had a really cold working area. Some people who work with gumpaste do use wires-- but of course, not edible.

As far as shiny...hmmm...I know you can use sanding sugars for a sparkly look, or luster dusts, but I know other CC members will have better ideas! icon_rolleyes.gif

sarahparmenter Posted 29 Apr 2008 , 4:48pm
post #3 of 7