Advice On A New Business

Business By robinleah Updated 9 May 2008 , 11:20am by robinleah

robinleah Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
robinleah Posted 28 Apr 2008 , 1:34pm
post #1 of 10

I am new to cake decorating and last night I had a thought. I would like to start a cake decorating supply business. I am from a rural area canada and have such a hard time finding supplies. I order throught eh web to the US and Britain, finding a canadian distributor is hard to find. There a few but I always lean back to the US. Anybody out there start such a business who can offer me some advice. You can pm me or email . any advice is greatly appreciated.

Robin

9 replies
cakedout Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakedout Posted 28 Apr 2008 , 3:31pm
post #2 of 10

You know, I would like to have some feedback from such business owners as well.

I have always wanted to have a supply shop along with my bakery, and did sell a few things...mostly what clients needed who were taking my classes. Several years ago my hands and elbows began to give out. My husband sold his business (on our property), so I closed the shop and we moved. No more cakes..except one here and there.

So now I figured was the time to consider doing just supplies and classes, since I had trouble doing actual decorating. My husband thinks that such a business is not viable, and won't consider helping me. I know there are successful businesses out there! Just would like to have some info to show my hubby that it could be done!

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 28 Apr 2008 , 3:49pm
post #3 of 10

oh geesh, most husbands are like that! I think it's because it's a "girl" business .... oh how cute! she wants to sell some little cake thingies! Isn't that just adorable!!

If it doesn't have an engine or isnt' a sports thing, then it can't be a "real" business to them.

big sigh!!!