Wilton Course 1 Questions

Decorating By Bellatheball Updated 29 Apr 2008 , 2:54am by TexasSugar

Bellatheball Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bellatheball Posted 28 Apr 2008 , 2:41am
post #1 of 10

So I'm very new to cakes but have been decorating cookies for a few years. I decided to take the Wilton courses. It looks like the first course covers the very basics. Is it worthwhile to take? I'm not good at buttercream roses which is really the only reason I'm taking it. Any feedback would be great!

9 replies
kelleym Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kelleym Posted 28 Apr 2008 , 2:44am
post #2 of 10

I also only took Wilton 1 because of the buttercream roses, but I'm glad I took the whole course. It gives you some good fundamentals, and a chance to ask a professional lots of questions that seem to arise when you're in the middle of a cake, or new technique. It's a great place to start!

icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 28 Apr 2008 , 2:48am
post #3 of 10

i am so glad i took them all. i love all the flowers from each course. i love knowing about royal icing and color flow. i love knowing how to cover cakes with fondant etc. that was 12 years ago, and i am still learning from outside classes and from here.

HerBoudoir Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HerBoudoir Posted 28 Apr 2008 , 2:50am
post #4 of 10

I'm working my way through the Wilton courses now, and like you, have some experience decorating and such.

In all honesty - it was fun, I learned some new stuff, and it was worth it for what I paid for it.

fmcmulle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
fmcmulle Posted 28 Apr 2008 , 2:52am
post #5 of 10

I think you should definitely take course one. It does show you the basic steps and I think you will glad once the class is finished. I took all of the classes and I still refer back to some of the books when I need to. thumbs_up.gif
Faye

jammjenks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jammjenks Posted 28 Apr 2008 , 12:32pm
post #6 of 10