Help W/ Gp Peonies

Decorating By maryg083 Updated 5 Mar 2013 , 10:31pm by drea71

maryg083 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
maryg083 Posted 27 Apr 2008 , 3:17pm
post #1 of 36

I have been searching high and low for instructions on gumpaste peonies and have only come up with instructions for paper peonies, which may be helpful if not for the patterns(I will be ordering cutters & Vieners soon). Does anyone know of anything online that shows how to make these? I need to make them for a July wedding and am trying to get in some practice before hand! I'm a beginner w/ gp flowers- I have only made cherry blossom branches previously, so any help with this would be much appreciated thumbs_up.gif

Thanks!

35 replies
JoAnnB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnnB Posted 28 Apr 2008 , 5:23am
post #2 of 36

Nicholas Lodge has an excellent video for the peony. he also has the cutters for the petals.

wgoat5 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
wgoat5 Posted 28 Apr 2008 , 10:08am
post #3 of 36

one of my all time fav. gp flower !!! icon_smile.gif

JenniferMI Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JenniferMI Posted 28 Apr 2008 , 11:58am
post #4 of 36

Hi!

I teach this flower in my classes and can give you lots of info on it!

Just e-mail me if you wish, [email protected] My cutters are modified from Nic's version.

Jen icon_smile.gif
LL

wgoat5 Posted 28 Apr 2008 , 12:00pm
post #5 of 36

Ohh thats beautiful Jennifer.. *sigh* if only I could do that!!!

JenniferMI Posted 28 Apr 2008 , 12:03pm
post #6 of 36

wgoat5 -

Gumpaste flowers are NOT as difficult as people think! I have had MANY many students in my classes that have NEVER touched gumpaste before and they have wonderful results! My advice is: take a QUALITY gumpaste flower class. When I say quality, I mean look at the flowers, do they look REAL???? Most people, if they take a good class, can take right off with this art. Not everyone though...some do much better with hands on classes.

Jen icon_smile.gif