Receiving A Bad Check...suggestions, Please!

Decorating By gucci Updated 26 Apr 2008 , 7:07pm by butterflywings

gucci Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gucci Posted 26 Apr 2008 , 5:12am
post #1 of 11

I am very new at the cake biz, and I just received my first bad check from a customer. It's a girl that I used to work with, so I'd consider her an acquaintance. I made the cake for her two weeks ago, and I just got the notice in the mail today from my bank that there were insufficient funds in her account. Not only do I not have the money for the cake, but my bank also charged me a $10.00 fee. Luckily, it was just a $40.00 party cake, and not an extravagant tiered cake or anything. The problem is, I know that she was moving the week I made the cake for her. Plus, I've tried calling her cell phone, which is the only number I have, and it's no longer in service. What do I do?! Should I write this one off as a loss and "note to self: never sell a cake to her again," or should I try to track her down? She is friends with my neighbor, so it's possible I could get in touch with her somehow. I'm sorry that I'm rambling now; what would you all do? Thank you for letting me vent: )

10 replies
nikki72905 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nikki72905 Posted 26 Apr 2008 , 5:33am
post #2 of 11

You could have the bank check to see if the money is "now" in her account. You try to put a check through up to 2 times. The banks are able to check to see if the money is in the bank, and you could also send her a note (you'll have to find the info from your neighbor - I would not say that it was for a bounced check) saying that you are going to charge her 10/20 for the inconvience of a bounced check. I know many stores are able to do this via auto draft when they take the money out of the account for the check. Do you have a "insufficient funds policy?"