Pricing Dilemma!

Decorating By janebrophy Updated 26 Apr 2008 , 12:01pm by janebrophy

janebrophy Posted 25 Apr 2008 , 9:44pm
post #1 of 8

I'm making a small wedding cake, only for about 30 people. She wants something like this photo, only in buttercream. I've told her I'll include an anniversary tier at no charge, as she wants one. Bottom 2 tiers are both to be filled with mousse. I will end up cutting cakes down in order to not make this a colossal cake. I don't want to charge an arm and a leg, as I am eager for the experience. Also, she has given me a week's notice. I have a price chart for sheet cakes, but since I'm new at weddings, I haven't got a clue!!
LL

7 replies
costumeczar Posted 25 Apr 2008 , 11:49pm
post #2 of 8

Is this the same woman who wanted less-sweet icing? I'd personally charge her $3.25 a serving for a simple cake, plus delivery. Are you throwing the top tier in for free (anniversary tier) or making her another one fresh on her anniversary? If you're giving her a free anniversary cake on her anniversary, I assume that the three tiers will serve 30 people, since there's no reason for her to need to save the top tier! How big are these cakes going to be? Three tiers for 30 people seems like a lot.

janebrophy Posted 26 Apr 2008 , 12:05am
post #3 of 8

It is the same woman! I'm making the top tier for her anniversary, she wants to keep it that long, so I think it's a nice idea to give that one away. I am going to have to make these tiers pretty small, I have done it before by cutting a rectangular cake into smaller squares and then stacking them. I will probably end up making too much cake. The woman said she had to be honest, she didn't want to spend more than $150.00. My mouth fell open, because I wasn't going to charge nearly that!

costumeczar Posted 26 Apr 2008 , 12:30am
post #4 of 8