Should I Have Charged More For This Cake?

Business By Trixyinaz Updated 26 Apr 2008 , 2:03am by yaadie

Trixyinaz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Trixyinaz Posted 25 Apr 2008 , 1:53pm
post #1 of 24

I've never done a sheet cake before so I was a bit clueless. I did my pricing in excel and it came to around $31 (all scratch), which includes electricty, supplies, ingredients, etc. My customer paid me $75. So when I initially asked when I first got the order, some people on CC thought I should sell it for around 40 or 45 dollars, but that just seemed too low (that wouldn't even be a $1 per serving). I'd be making like a dollar an hour on top of that. This is a 9 x 13 double layer scratch cake (chocolate) with scratch raspberry filling (fresh fruit, not frozen) with buttercream icing and decorations with royal icing trees and then the plastic golf guy and flag. Depending on how she cuts it, it can feed up to 54 people - even tho they are only serving 25-30 ppl. If I went by my $2.00 a serving rule, I should have sold this cake for $108. But, I felt that was too high.

Then I got to work this morning after delivering the cake (she works with me) and emailed the pics to my cake supporters, and one of the ladies thought I undersold myself and that she was thinking a cake this size with all the decorations that I did should go for at least $100. Now I'm second guessing myself - I should have stuck with my $2.00 per serving matrix. icon_confused.gif

Thoughts?
LL

23 replies
ccr03 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ccr03 Posted 25 Apr 2008 , 3:39pm
post #2 of 24

I guess technically, yeah it does feed 54 (4x2x1) and at $2 a serving you could charge $108.

Personally, though, consider that a quarter sheet cake and I think that's too high. I would have charged $35 - but I calculated bigger slice and have a flat rate for sheet cakes.