Making The Quilt Or Diamond Look In Buttercream

Decorating By Aubrey2007 Updated 29 Apr 2008 , 4:34am by mindywith3boys

Aubrey2007 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Aubrey2007 Posted 24 Apr 2008 , 5:01am
post #1 of 16

Hey gals! I've never made the diamond impressions in fondant on a cake before. I was guessing you use a pizza cutter or a knife to score the cake? How would you get even lines? So I saw someone today who made this design in buttercream. How do you do this? Could someone explain it to me? It's such a pretty technique, but I just don't know how to do it. Thanks!

15 replies
xstitcher Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
xstitcher Posted 24 Apr 2008 , 6:51am
post #2 of 16

I could be wrong as I'm still very new to decorating but I believe there are mats/stencils you can buy to achieve this look. Some decorators may do free hand, or some may have used the toothpick method for their design. There could be other ways as well but so far that is what I have seen/read here on CC.

HTH, Cheers! icon_biggrin.gif

psanders76 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
psanders76 Posted 24 Apr 2008 , 7:20am
post #3 of 16

I have used the diamond impression mats in the past. I like to use a ruler and the back of a knife though its much easier for me.

xstitcher Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
xstitcher Posted 24 Apr 2008 , 8:18am
post #4 of 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by psanders76

I have used the diamond impression mats in the past. I like to use a ruler and the back of a knife though its much easier for me.

On one of the posts I read one of our members mentioned using uncooked spaghetti to make lines. I thought that was a pretty neat idea!

Found it:

http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-583144.html

I like to give credit to the original poster whenever possible! icon_biggrin.gificon_biggrin.gif

joenshan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
joenshan Posted 24 Apr 2008 , 8:49am
post #5 of 16