Basic Cake Decorating Steps

Decorating By matwogirls Updated 27 Apr 2008 , 7:38am by xstitcher

matwogirls Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
matwogirls Posted 23 Apr 2008 , 3:41pm
post #1 of 9

Ok, so I have not been baking cakes for the past four years.(took some time off to have and be with my kids, and the time off snowballed on me.)

I had not been doing it for a very long before that. So I am not extremely experienced and I am self taught. I stopped doing cakes for weddings and just did simple cakes for birthdays and such. Nothing special. So now that I am getting back into it I am realizing everyday how much I do not remember. icon_cry.gif I am lost. I just read the post on the simple syrup and I had completely forgot that and I have not done that step since I started back in again.

Can someone just take the time out to give a break down of instructions on cake decorating. Like the steps on what to do after you finish baking the cakes. I know it is silly, I am just worried that I am forgetting so much. I hope I am not the only one out there that can benefit from this. So please help me. I know I have a book somewhere around my house, but I am renovating and I have no clue where it would be right now.

Thanks,
Janice

8 replies
Teekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Teekakes Posted 23 Apr 2008 , 4:02pm
post #2 of 9

Hi Janice icon_smile.gif

The basic steps would be......bake cakes.......turn out on wire racks to cool....place cake on undercut cake board....torte cakes and fill.....place cakes on the cake board you will be serving it from..........crumb coat if you wish to.....let sit 10 or 15 mins.......frost cakes.......smooth frosting once it has crusted...........decorate as you wish.

If you wish to cover a cake in fondant you would place the fondant over the smoothed buttercream frosting and BEFORE placing it on the permanent cake board..