What To Cover A Cake Board With?

Decorating By SecretAgentCakeBaker Updated 8 May 2008 , 1:24pm by SecretAgentCakeBaker

SecretAgentCakeBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SecretAgentCakeBaker Posted 23 Apr 2008 , 12:50pm
post #1 of 25

Sorry for all the questions today. I am new at this.

What do you cover the cake board with? I have seen some that use a pretty colored, patterned foil. I don't know where to get it. Is it food safe?

Also, I have seen some with what appears to be wrapping paper, but I do not want to use anything that I don't know to be food safe (there could be lead in the in for instance).

I don't want to just use those plain boards that have the silver pattern already on them.

Thanks for your help!
Barbaranne

24 replies
cake-angel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cake-angel Posted 23 Apr 2008 , 1:02pm
post #2 of 25

Most of the pretty foil is called fancy foil. It is made by Wilton and comes in various colors that you can apply to cake boards.
A lot of people use scrapbooking paper or wrapping paper and cover it with clear contact paper. You can also cover boards with rolled fondant.

SecretAgentCakeBaker Posted 23 Apr 2008 , 1:21pm
post #3 of 25

So the contact paper is food safe?

I was wondering about the fondant. When the cake is cut, does the fondant that is on the board come off and stay stuck to the bottom of the cake, resulting in a messy looking board?

Thanks for all the help!

BakingGirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakingGirl Posted 23 Apr 2008 , 1:34pm
post #4 of 25