Help! Wedding Cake Request...need Decoding!

Decorating By flutterbyu Updated 26 Apr 2008 , 12:29pm by Auryn

flutterbyu Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
flutterbyu Posted 22 Apr 2008 , 5:42pm
post #1 of 19

Ok, I have been decorating cakes for nearly 10 years but I am STUMPED with this request. Anyone have any idea of what her style really is, or is she as confused as I am? icon_smile.gif

(Pieces from 2 emails):

I want an elegant but young fun Victorian styled cake. My wedding colors are black,red, silver.

I want a fondant covering with decor. I dont want ANY flowers on the cake at all. I'm very very picky and i'm not a flower type of person. I want something more my style and his We are more of a new age couple. So i want something thats elegant and classic with a new age twist.

18 replies
TheButterWench Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TheButterWench Posted 22 Apr 2008 , 6:26pm
post #2 of 19

do you have a phone number that you can actually talk to these people? or have them email you pictures of cakes they like?

flutterbyu Posted 22 Apr 2008 , 6:44pm
post #3 of 19

I do. I was just trying to get a general gauge of her style, so I could give her some options, but I'm not so sure even she knows what she wants!

TheButterWench Posted 22 Apr 2008 , 7:10pm
post #4 of 19

Well then, I think a meeting with the couple/bride is in order so she can clarify her wants better.

I don't think that we can help you, CC has a bunch of talented decorators but I don't think they have crossed over into the mind reading aspect of cake decorating yet.

lol

Good luck and let us (me) know what she ends up getting.

Tramski Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tramski Posted 22 Apr 2008 , 7:13pm
post #5 of 19

I don't know how victorian it is, but you could play with something like this to bring those colors together...
LL

flutterbyu Posted 22 Apr 2008 , 7:37pm
post #6 of 19