New Here, Wonder If Anyone Can Help Me

Decorating By lauramillie Updated 21 Apr 2008 , 6:03pm by bashini

lauramillie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lauramillie Posted 21 Apr 2008 , 4:14pm
post #1 of 8

Hi.

I am new to cake decorating and am wanting to possibly make a 3D character to go on my daughters 1st birthday cake.. I'm just wondering what sort of icing is used and if I need to make it in advance or when I make the cake..

i thought I could just use this type of icing

http://www.cakescookiesandcraftsshop.co.uk/acatalog/Regalice-Lilac-Sugarpaste-250g.html

But have been told that this icing can't be used to make 3D toppers so now I am confused lol

Thanks in advance
Laura

7 replies
tiptop57 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiptop57 Posted 21 Apr 2008 , 4:20pm
post #2 of 8

Welcome to CC!

I believe that is straight fondant and you will want something stronger as fondant alone is very, very fragile.

If you can purchase some tylose powder to add to the fondant that would give it added strength, otherwise try straight gumpaste which would be the best material to use.

HTH

Shola Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Shola Posted 21 Apr 2008 , 4:27pm
post #3 of 8

Hi!
I have just joined CC for the same reason! icon_biggrin.gif My DD's 1st Bday is on the 2nd May, when's yours?
As TipTop says Fondant would be the best thing for modeling stuff out of, although marzipans an option.

Good luck!
Shola
XXX

Sarsi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sarsi Posted 21 Apr 2008 , 4:31pm
post #4 of 8

Yes, you can use fondant, but as tiptop said, it might crumble. You will definately need tylose powder, or, do as I do and kneed 50/50 fondant/gumpaste together and then mold it. It will be very sturdy then. There is a recipe for gumpaste in the recipe section here on CC...

Sugar_Plum_Fairy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sugar_Plum_Fairy Posted 21 Apr 2008 , 4:39pm
post #5 of 8