What Kind Of Cake Rounds Or Boards Do You Use?

Decorating By Mommaskip Updated 20 Apr 2008 , 9:43pm by aligotmatt

Mommaskip Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mommaskip Posted 20 Apr 2008 , 2:19pm
post #1 of 6

Im very new to this whole cake baking and assembling thing. I have never done a tiered cake before and I would like to try but have many questions. I have watched a video on assembling cakes and it seems easy but was wondering i know you can buy the cake rounds or boards at the store to support the base of each tier but can i make my own? if so what should i cover them with before stacking. it is just a cardboard round right? i have plently of cardboard laying around so why not use it. i only want to try 2 tiers to start do i still need to use a center dowel. this cake is just for practice at home so i wont be moving it anywhere. thanks to all who respond. any help is appreciated.

5 replies
lu9129 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lu9129 Posted 20 Apr 2008 , 2:27pm
post #2 of 6

Cake boards I just use boxes at work and cut them to size I want. If I need it thicker I just cut more.
I have also used foam board.

Lu

eriksmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
eriksmom Posted 20 Apr 2008 , 2:30pm
post #3 of 6

If you use cardboard that's laying around, cover it in foil, or there is this stuff called florist foil. there is a site called www.wrapsmart.com that sells it. This works well if you are only doing cakes sometimes, but gets expensive when you start doing lots of them on a regular basis.
check out the website, this florist foil comes in so many colors, too!
HTH

Mommaskip Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mommaskip Posted 20 Apr 2008 , 3:11pm
post #4 of 6

thanks so much ladies.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 20 Apr 2008 , 8:41pm
post #5 of 6