Fondant Surprise! Advice Please!!

Decorating By Shola Updated 20 Apr 2008 , 12:30am by Shola

Shola Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Shola Posted 18 Apr 2008 , 1:03pm
post #1 of 12

So I decided to have a little test with the fondant I bought,(its the companies own brand) but this stuff is practicly a goopy liquid! icon_surprised.gif As soon as I dug a glob out it was just stuck on me like glue! I had to knead in a about a cup of icing suger to this tiny blob just to make it so that I could roll it! Only thing is the taste was fairly bland at the begining but after it was just soooooo sweet no one could've stomached it! I'd love advice on how to remedy this, should I use corn flour, will it taste worse if I do? (I will be adding some flavoring) What is the optimal texture of this stuff?

Sorry I'm a real beginner I had pictured fondant as something of a slightly sticky pastry texture! So now I'm panicing!

One good thing though I tried a bit of turquoise americolor gel in it and got a fantastic colour! Lol! thumbs_up.gif

Really I'd love to post a pic of this stuff straight out of the pot it can't be the same as the stuff you guys use to make those pristeen cakes!

Help!

Shola
XXX

11 replies
tiptop57 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiptop57 Posted 18 Apr 2008 , 2:45pm
post #2 of 12

I see you are in Bangkok so the products are probably very different then the States. It doesn't sound right. It should feel like play dough........you might want to try making your own.

Shola Posted 18 Apr 2008 , 4:25pm
post #3 of 12

Ah, PlayDough, if only that was edible, I can get that here!!
I hope there's a remedy as I don't wanna make my own, it's just another thing that could go wrong! I'm already worried about the cake and BC, I'll be doing a practice one before though icon_smile.gif
BTW TipTop I thought your avatar was actually a displayed necklace untill I saw the cake in the gallery, really amazing!

tiptop57 Posted 18 Apr 2008 , 5:12pm
post #4 of 12