How Do I Bake Cakes That Don't Have A Dome?

Decorating By Mosaic Updated 19 Apr 2008 , 7:37pm by akgirl10

Mosaic Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mosaic Posted 18 Apr 2008 , 3:54am
post #1 of 12

I'm sure you can tell by my question that I am a beginner.

I read somewhere that you can tied a strip of damp fabric around the sides of your cake pan in a tight knot and that will help to create a more flat, less domed cake top. I tried it and it helped a little.

I'm assuming there are pans that would help with this problem. But, in the short term, I'd rather not buy anything new. Is there a way to solve this problem or improve the situation?

M.

11 replies
Ironbaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ironbaker Posted 18 Apr 2008 , 3:58am
post #2 of 12

Maybe baking at a lower temp, slightly longer time. (325)

Magic strips or bake-even strips do help a lot. People use the wet towels/fabric as an alternative. You may be able to find some cheap on ebay.

How much batter are you putting in the pans?

lastingmoments Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lastingmoments Posted 18 Apr 2008 , 4:04am
post #3 of 12

I bake at 325 until they are ready........varies depending on which kind of cake I am making.....

but I always tap the pans on the counter a few times to take out bubbles and level my batter. after I tap I find if i spin them once or twice it also helps making sure my batter is even.

Then after they are done baking they come out just perfect. I dont ever have to level or cut I just flip out and ice! if there is a slight rise after they are pulled out that tends to lower to the perfect hieght once cooled.

bethyboop Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bethyboop Posted 18 Apr 2008 , 4:11am
post #4 of 12

some will disagree because it changes the density of the cake, but, while the cake is hot, i press the top of the cake down to make it even. I have not had anyone complain that my cakes are too dense.

jbnhayes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile