Gum Paste - Where Do I Start??

Decorating By Yoliebean Updated 20 Apr 2008 , 5:58pm by FromScratch

Yoliebean Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Yoliebean Posted 16 Apr 2008 , 10:51pm
post #1 of 11

I am new to gum paste and have spent quite alot of time on CC and other websites to get information on where to start first. I just thought I'd ask you experts to point me in the right direction. I want to know what should I invest in first? What should I not buy? What is a good book on this craft??

I already feel addicted!!!! Help please!

10 replies
ceshell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ceshell Posted 18 Apr 2008 , 7:14am
post #2 of 11

What are you trying to make with gumpaste - flowers, or figures?? That would reflect, I think, on what tools you need although I'd assume the basic flower tool kit would be a good start. I've never used any books--I'm a gp novice myself, mostly just use it for figures, so I can't help you there--but those tools have definitely come in handy for just about anything I've ever tried to make out of gp or fondant, both figures and flowers (heck I've only made one flower). Hopefully someone else will chime in here w/some more pointers! icon_smile.gif

I can say to first maybe just invest in a package of Wilton premade gumpaste just to give you a feel for how the stuff works. If you like it and see yourself using it a lot, somewhere around here or the internet you can find a recipe for Nic Lodge's gumpaste, which I've seen many CCers swear by.

I'd also suggest you search the forums for tips but I can't think of what search terms you'd want to use in order to narrow down your results...plus any threads that include posts from Oct 27, 2007-March 14 2008 have corrupted data so you could end up with a lot of dead links anyway. Hmpf!

dg10148 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dg10148 Posted 18 Apr 2008 , 8:15am
post #3 of 11

I got started by buying the wilton flower kit it comes with a book and tools