What To Charge??

Decorating By snoopy3 Updated 17 Apr 2008 , 8:22am by xstitcher

snoopy3 Posted 16 Apr 2008 , 4:10am
post #1 of 6

I am horrible at figuring out what to charge. I am going to use the course 2 cake pans (ovals), she would like a marble cake, and I am going to do a basket weave and then I am making some chocolate butterflies for it. I really don't know what to charge! Do you think that $30 or $35 is too much? She also wants me to deliver - is $10 unrealistic! I have to bring my 2 kids with me (both still in car seats), find parking etc....

I never know what I should charge!

Thanks for any insight!!

5 replies
gucci Posted 16 Apr 2008 , 4:22am
post #2 of 6

I know what you mean about pricing...it's hard to put a price on your own goods! Although I'm a beginner and am not charging what I should (in order to first build my name), I have that cake priced at $14. This is without any extra ornamentation or delivery. I would say maybe between $30 and $35, depending on how far you have to drive and how many butterflies and other 'extras' you're applying. Also, are you including a filling? What I'm beginning to tell myself is that if they really want the cake that you're able to make for them, they're going to pay the price. We have to remind ourselves that we're in a business. But I should take some of my own advice, because I'm really bad at this!!

LittleLinda Posted 16 Apr 2008 , 12:19pm
post #3 of 6

I am unfamiliar with the cake; but I charge $28 for a cake that takes two cake mixes. As far as delivery, I just wanted to mention that whatever you charge for delivery shouldn't matter if you have to take children with you or not. It's not the customer's problem.

My rule of thumb is asking myself "what would I think is fair if I were the customer?"

snoopy3 Posted 16 Apr 2008 , 2:28pm
post #4 of 6