Cake Sheets?

Decorating By Meagazz Updated 15 Apr 2008 , 1:45pm by Meagazz

Meagazz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Meagazz Posted 14 Apr 2008 , 8:13pm
post #1 of 5

Hi everyone...

I am a newbie at cake decorating and I keep reading/hearing about 1/2 sheets, 1/4 sheets etc. for cakes. What does this mean? I know it is the size of (a square?) cake, but exactly what size is a 'sheet' and if for example, you are only making a 1/4 sheet cake, do you waste the other 3/4, or is it a different pan size?? icon_redface.gif

As well, what is the serving amount for the different sizes??

Haha... I don't mind if you laugh, I may just be having one of my 'moments' which seem to come more often than not!

Thanks for your help!

~ Meag

4 replies
kerri729 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kerri729 Posted 14 Apr 2008 , 8:39pm
post #2 of 5

Hello.....

You will get a slug of different answers on this- "sheet cakes" are a term that used to be a "standard" definition of certain sized rectangular shaped cakes- but the sizes differ, depending on who you talk to, and there is no right or wrong. Customers as for a "1/4", "1/2" or full sheet cakes all the time, without really knowing how much they serve- that is the key- number of servings needed, and that too can vary from person to person. The pans come in several sizes and shapes, depending on what you need. Wilton has their basic instructions at the bottom of this page, based on wedding or party servings, and the pan desired:

http://www.wilton.com/cake/cakeprep/baking/times/index.cfm

I would start from there.
HTH
Kerri

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 15 Apr 2008 , 1:22am
post #3 of 5

I refuse to use the terms "1/2" and "1/4".

I actually had a call today from a lady wanting a sheet cake. I asked (as I always do), "How many do you need it to feed?" She said, "Oh, I guess just a 1/2 sheet." I said, "How big is that?" She said, "Well, I'm not sure."

icon_confused.gif