Moment To Vent Before I Cry (Long)

Decorating By mom42ws Updated 12 Apr 2008 , 7:50pm by ladyonzlake

mom42ws Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mom42ws Posted 12 Apr 2008 , 3:20pm
post #1 of 10

okay, i've had 3 cakes to make this weekend and have been in the kitchen about 10 hours a day since thursday. i know this is how it is when you are baking as a business. but this last cake, for my 4 yr. old, is breaking me down.

it's a princess castle and i tried a technique new to me (got from cambo? on cc) and it looks okay. i've never done a square cake or a tiered cake. well, overnight the top cake squashed my bottom layer somewhat so i'm thinking the dowels were not in the best positions.

the BC frosting looks okay at best and i'm using RI (for flowers), which i've never used before and having a tough time with it. i thought that you could make the flowers in advance on parchment and then move them to the cake later but all my flowers are breaking and i don't know if they've not sat long enough or what.

my daughter is going to love it no matter what and people will probably think that it looks good but i know better. now that i'm acting as a cake baking/decorating business i now feel like there is never room for error and people will be expecting excellent cakes all the time. i'm still learing with each cake but with each cake i'm reminded how far i have to go. i just don't want anyone to look at my cakes and think that i shouldn't be in business.

on top of the stress of the cake, the party for my daughter is here at our house for like 40+ people and i haven't had anytime to do house work and i'm sitting here wasting time on the computer. ahhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!

9 replies
Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 12 Apr 2008 , 3:25pm
post #2 of 10