Character Pan (Cake Was Dry) -What Can I Use To Prevent This

Decorating By xstitcher Updated 20 Apr 2008 , 9:50pm by xstitcher

xstitcher Posted 11 Apr 2008 , 8:26am
post #1 of 15

Hi Everyone,

I just baked a Winnie the Pooh Cake pan (my first character pan) and it came out dry around the edges. I used 2 flower nails, however, since I have never used a character pan before the placement of these flower nails were not centered. I did not want parts of Winnie not showing. The pan I used was the Winnie Pan where he is holding the balloon. I had placed a nail in the balloon area and another in his belly area. Unfortunately the cake took longer to bake because the center was not cooked during the recommended baking time (BC mix).

Here is the pan I used:
http://www.wilton.com/store/site/product.cfm?id=76F50944-802D-F658-007A8F370CEA7334&fid=76F50963-802D-F658-0205732F79D5C6EE

Is it possible to use the baking strips or something else to stop this from happening again? I baked the cake @ 350F. Should I perhaps bake at a different temp? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks! icon_biggrin.gif

Sorry everyone. I just realized that I have put this post in the wrong category. I can't seem to find anyway to change that, I thought if I edited it it would give me the option but I don't see that options anywhere. If someone could let me know how to move this post from General to How Do I that would be great! Thanks! icon_redface.gif

14 replies
veejaytx Posted 11 Apr 2008 , 11:26am
post #2 of 15

Well, I use the baking strips on my character pans, and I bake almost all my cakes at 325 instead of 350.

I attach the strips to the pans with the "bulldog" clips that come from the office supply store, they let you actually attach the strip to the pan. HTH a little.

bevyd Posted 11 Apr 2008 , 6:02pm
post #3 of 15