Beginner Needs Help On How Long In Advance To Make Cake...

Decorating By nicoleymitchell Updated 17 Apr 2008 , 12:49pm by indydebi

nicoleymitchell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nicoleymitchell Posted 11 Apr 2008 , 1:06am
post #1 of 8

I'm fairly new to baking cakes--- I've only done a few fancy ones so far. I've always done them the morning of the event (with many practice runs beforehand), however I would like to try to do my next one in advance, as I just think its too much work for one day. I'm doing a guitar cake for a chocolate lover... chocolate cake, chocolate ganache-type frosting and lots of candy decorations.

My questions is: can I make the cake beforehand? I've heard you can make the cakes (it will be three full cakes, split into 2 layers each) a few days beforehand, freeze them and thaw them out to cut, frost. etc. I've also heard you can frost a few days beforehand. But I'm worrying about the cakes and frosting drying out!!

My ideal situation is to make the cakes several days in advance and freeze them. Then, maybe 1-2 days before, I can thaw them out, cut the shapes, and frost them. Also, I can make all the candywork and decorations at this time. Then, the day of the event (30th b-day party), all I will have to do is decorate the already-made and frosted cake!!
Is this too good too be true???

Thanks!!

7 replies
norma20 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
norma20 Posted 11 Apr 2008 , 1:20am
post #2 of 8

First day: Bake, wrap with plastic wrap, refrigerate.

Second day: Torte, moist w/ flavored syrup, add filling, crumb coat, refrigerate.

Third day: Frosting and decorate. Deliver in the afternoon, or in the next day.

Everything always made from scratch.

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 11 Apr 2008 , 1:26am
post #3 of 8