Cleaning Wilton Tips

Decorating By auntsteff Updated 11 Apr 2008 , 10:25am by hwnhulahands

auntsteff Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
auntsteff Posted 10 Apr 2008 , 1:42am
post #1 of 10

I have 10-15 tips that were passed on to me that were my grandmothers. Unfortunately, between the time she passed and the time I got the tips, they had been outside for quite some time. And I mean in the elements, outside.

I have been trying to clean the tips, several have rust IN them. I have used the magic eraser to get the outside clean, but I am having a hard time getting the rust from the inside. My fingers are not that small.

I have put them in a pot on the stove tonight, with water and regular white vinegar. I was thinking of boiling them in the vinegar/water tomorrow and trying again. Any experience with this?

Any suggestions?

9 replies
southernbelle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
southernbelle Posted 10 Apr 2008 , 1:49am
post #2 of 10

I am a Wilton instructor and we always tell our students never soak the tips in vinegar. It discolors the tips and they will look tarnished.

I use a baby bottle brush that has a nipple cleaner attachment. Works great. Might be small enough to get the inside clean.

KHalstead Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KHalstead Posted 10 Apr 2008 , 1:52am
post #3 of 10

I use a nipple brush too......maybe you could try wrapping some steel wool around a skewer or something to get inside there and get the rust out really good........I'd probably just toss the real rusted ones and buy new ones......I mean they're usually under a buck each

Larie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Larie Posted 10 Apr 2008 , 2:01am
post #4 of 10

you could try CLR

HerBoudoir Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HerBoudoir Posted 10 Apr 2008 , 2:43am
post #5 of 10

If they're rusted - I would just throw them out. Realistically, 10-15 brand NEW tips would cost you less than $20.

Cake_Princess Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile