At What Point Would You Consider Going "legal"

Decorating By CharmingConfections Updated 8 Apr 2008 , 4:27pm by mommycakediva

CharmingConfections Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CharmingConfections Posted 8 Apr 2008 , 2:05am
post #1 of 14

I've been cake decorating for less then a year, I am self taught and still learning. All the sudden I am having lots of calls... The cake decorator at the local grocery store (friend of a friend) said she doesn't have time to do wedding cakes and is giving everyone my phone number!!! Today an event planner for a local wedding venue (friend of a friend of a friend) asked if she could give my # out to bride's she is working with. I am kind of panicking! I work 3 days a week as a graphic designer... and would love to *someday* give it up and do cakes alone.. but will I have to push that schedule up if all these people are giving me references?! My husband worries that with all this "business" that the Health inspector is going to find out about me and come get me! haha. I feel like I am still learning and am not ready to do this as a full blown business.

At what point would you think it is necessary to get "legal"?

13 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 8 Apr 2008 , 2:30am
post #2 of 14

YOu're already at risk with a website that shows pricing. Now, many folks go for-almost-ever with this kind of website and do ok. I've known folks who flew under the radar for years ... and they even advertised in local papers!!

But I've recently shared the story of a caterer friend who had her website up for only 4 weeks .... when the HD knocked on her door. HD's boss had told the staff to scan the internet, looking for home caterers and "...shut 'em down".

It's strictly a gamble.....

CharmingConfections Posted 8 Apr 2008 , 2:39am
post #3 of 14