Great News!?

Business By saberger Updated 14 Apr 2008 , 5:11am by Sugar_Plum_Fairy

saberger Posted 7 Apr 2008 , 7:47pm
post #1 of 12

So, I have some possible good news. I contacted a place near me that is like an indoor playground and they do kids birthday parties on the weekend. They are new and didn't have anyone to do there cakes, so I went and introduced myself. To make a long story short, she wants to use me for the cakes/cupcakes/cookies, but I am concerned since I a not licensed. I didn't say anything to her for fear of losing he potential business, but I really am not interested in getting her into any trouble (or myself).

So here is the thing: there is a kitchen on the premises and I am thinking it would be great if I could approach her to use it and get my license. What do you think? How do I do this without shooting myself in the rear and losing the biz? Any suggestions?

TIA

11 replies
indydebi Posted 8 Apr 2008 , 1:42am
post #2 of 12

When I was an at-home baker, one of my food sales reps brought me an opporunity to do the same thing ... a kids party place needed a cake person. She told them about me and they were interested .... after I got licensed.

I certainly would pursue the kitchen use idea .... what's the worse that can happen? You can 'suggest' that you're looking for a 'new' space (not totally untrue!) and it would be a win-win for both of you for them to have their cakes made right on site.

cakemommy Posted 8 Apr 2008 , 2:00am
post #3 of 12

You asked that perfectly. I am wondering the same thing but for sure couldn't have explained it better than you.

You know, I have always said, it takes just one person to give you your big break. This could be it especially that this place is new. That's a huge plus!!!!!!!!!!!! Let us know how this turns out and how the negotiation went.

Amy

GeminiRJ Posted 8 Apr 2008 , 11:59am
post #4 of 12