Big Event I Dont Know Where To Start?!?!

Decorating By XoGuitarChefoX Updated 12 Apr 2008 , 1:30am by XoGuitarChefoX

XoGuitarChefoX Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
XoGuitarChefoX Posted 7 Apr 2008 , 12:41am
post #1 of 8

ok, so my church is asking me to do 5 12X8 cakes for the seniors at our church. There is suppose to be at least 240+ people and i dont know what to do. I've never done this before for 240 people so im kindof freaking out. They told me that the tables are black with fish bowls and those glass marbles in them, but thats it. i have no idea for a theme... anybody got any ideas? or done this b4?

THANKS!!!!
nat

7 replies
Molly2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Molly2 Posted 7 Apr 2008 , 12:55am
post #2 of 8

Is it for Seniors in High School are Seniors in school?

Molly2

XoGuitarChefoX Posted 7 Apr 2008 , 12:59am
post #3 of 8

its a seniors in high school.

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 7 Apr 2008 , 12:59am
post #4 of 8

1st of all I think you mean 12x*18* cakes as 12x8s won't come close to serving 240 peopleicon_smile.gif
Will these cakes go one each table?
I think I would as some more ?s....What is the event? Any decorating help there?
To make the decorating surface smaller make a plaque area - can be any shape but think of measuring in 2" from the edge and p[iping a border around it. Now your decorating doesn't have to fill the whole cake. In the spece between the inside edgeing and the edges of the cake you can sprinkle jimmies or pipe cornelli.
You could also go w/balloons instead - piped icing balloons OR make them stand up by attaching dried fondant to sucker sticks pushed into the icing.

O.k. I now see it's for high school seniors. Totally differenticon_smile.gif Make some fondant fish -- oooohhhh I'm picturing a fish sheet cake that was on a MBN mag a couple of yrs back. They used FBCT - it was very colorful. That might be a great way to help bring some color into their black/fish bowl decorations.