Nh Home Bakery

Business By timslilprincess102385 Updated 8 Apr 2008 , 12:48am by FromScratch

timslilprincess102385 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
timslilprincess102385 Posted 6 Apr 2008 , 8:03pm
post #1 of 6

I've been decorating cakes for about 2 years and have been thinking about getting licensed. I'm pretty sure that NH licenses home babkeries but was wondering if anyone on here has gone through the process. I'm just trying to figure out what I would need in my kitchen to pass and about how much it would cost?? Thanks

5 replies
FromScratch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FromScratch Posted 6 Apr 2008 , 11:09pm
post #2 of 6

Hello fellow NH baker.. icon_wink.gif

The inspection process is very easy. You need a fridge that is at least 40 degrees (which it should be anyway), either a double sink or a single sink with a dishwasher, non-porous counter tops (so no wooden counters), and a bathroom on the first floor so you have a handwashing station that's not your kitchen sink.

I stressed for a month over my inspection.. but it was the easiest part of the whole process really. Where are you? I am in the southern end of the state in Epping. Nice to meet another NH baker.

timslilprincess102385 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
timslilprincess102385 Posted 6 Apr 2008 , 11:31pm
post #3 of 6

Thank you so much for the information, that makes me feel so much better. I've been just doing cakes for family but am starting to get some people asking me to make their cakes and want to make sure I go about everyting in the right way.
I'm living in North Conway right now but will be relocating to the Rochester area in June.

FromScratch Posted 7 Apr 2008 , 1:41am
post #4 of 6