What Fillings Don't Need To Be Refrigerated??

Decorating By biancas_mommy Updated 13 Apr 2008 , 3:25pm by funcakes

biancas_mommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
biancas_mommy Posted 5 Apr 2008 , 11:03pm
post #1 of 5

OK, I'm doing my first wedding cake in September and the bride wants white cake with strawberry & whipped cream filling...like a strawberry shortcake taste. She wasn't sure exactly, just that she wanted it to taste like strawberry shortcake.

But it's a fondant-covered cake so can't be refrigerated after it's decorated, not to mention I don't have a fridge big enough to hold that much cake anyway. I've been looking at recipes on here but I'm just not sure what the rules are for what needs to be refrigerated and what doesn't. If it has whipped cream in it, it needs to be? What about fresh fruit? Cream cheese? icon_smile.gif I'm new at this and really have no clue!! Can anybody explain to me what the rules are so I can figure out by looking at a recipe whether the cake would need to stay cold? And actually, does anybody have a strawberry shortcake style filling that doesn't need to be refrigerated?? TIA!!!

4 replies
beachcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beachcakes Posted 6 Apr 2008 , 1:35am
post #2 of 5

Congrats on your first wedding cake. Some fondants can be refrigerated - Satin Ice and FondX for two. I haven't had good luck w/ MMF in the fridge, but others have.

Anything with whipping cream needs to be refrigerated, as does cream cheese. Since you are in California, you should be able to find Pastry Pride (I think that's what it's called) - it's a nondairy whipped topping that's stable for a day or two.

That said, I don't know about the fresh strawberries. I think they would weep if not in refrigeration. You'd likely end up with a splotchy pink cake. You can buy non-perishable sleeve fillings, but they're more like a strawberry jam.

JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 6 Apr 2008 , 3:32am
post #3 of 5