First Time Wedding Cake Advice (It's Long)

Decorating By flowermom Updated 10 Apr 2008 , 6:01pm by flowermom

flowermom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
flowermom Posted 5 Apr 2008 , 9:42pm
post #1 of 24

I am sure this has been addressed about a gazillion times, so I will add one more to the number. I am very new to the cake decorating business, and have already turned down two brides for various reasons. Today I was asked by our pastor if I would do not one, BUT two cakes for his son's wedding coming up.

They are having two receptions, one with a cake for cutting, but not serving to the guests, they are getting Costco cakes because they are expecting a lot for this reception. Then they want to have a second cake for a more intimate reception later that evening. That one will also be cut by the bride and groom, but it will be served to the guests.

He made it very clear they want to pay me, and quoted me at $500...to which I think I must have blank out for a second or more icon_surprised.gif ...to which after I got myself back together said I would check on cost with a friend of mine (didn't tell him the I was checking with an entire Cake Community!).

What I need to know is what exactly I need to do make sure I make this experience for my first cake or rather cakes to go smoothly. Because it's a friend I probably won't do anything like a contract...also because I am not a professional/licensed. I already have a form I use for cake "orders". And I just ordered Sharon's Stacking Video...seems I going to need that, and yes I have the others! Probably what got me in this whole wedding cake project to begin with! Ha!

Thanks!!! I just love this place!

Sandi icon_biggrin.gif

23 replies
busymom9431 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
busymom9431 Posted 5 Apr 2008 , 9:54pm
post #2 of 24

If you are asking for price...............the people who can answer need to know how big of a cake(s) you are doing and the specifics. Sounds Exciting! Good Luck!