Business Name And Legality Questions

Business By Trixyinaz Updated 6 Apr 2008 , 1:22am by dragonaldy321

Trixyinaz Posted 5 Apr 2008 , 11:20am
post #1 of 8

Okay, I'm just starting out, but I so desperatly want a name. icon_razz.gif I do have a small business for my crafts, have my business name registered with the state, etc. But there are no laws about not being able to run that business in my home either.

So my question is this...can I create a name for my "cakery" and have it registered with the state (so no one else can use it) even tho I am just making them and selling them from my house? I can't remember, but registering a name is just that....not applying for a license, right? I just don't want to open a can of worms since I am doing this from home and in my state I can't be a licensed baker at home. I am hoping to someday have a storefront, but in the meantime, I would like to register a business name and then when I do get a storefront, I can get a business license, etc. Is that possible? What would you do? I don't want to be known as Vicki's Cakes and then when I actually do get a kitchen to change names. KWIM?

It's early so forgive my wording and lack of clarity.

7 replies
CarolAnn Posted 5 Apr 2008 , 11:50am
post #2 of 8

I think if it were me I'd wait until I was ready to open up shop to register the name. I'd think that once you register you're on the record and someone will start checking into what you're doing with that name. Sounds risky to me.

dragonaldy321 Posted 5 Apr 2008 , 11:56am
post #3 of 8

In Michigan you can register your business name with no problem You have to pay the fee every year to renew the name. I believe that the fee is ten dollars a year. Go to and type in small business and all of the informtion is there. When you register your business name that is all you are doing. It's when you get a license that they start investigating.
That's why I have not gotten a license yet. I too work out of my home.