Which Books Are A Must Have?

Decorating By shannonlovebug Updated 5 Apr 2008 , 4:34am by dandelion56602

shannonlovebug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shannonlovebug Posted 4 Apr 2008 , 9:27pm
post #1 of 11

I told DH I wanted some cake decorating books for my b-day but there are SOOOOO many to choose from. I am just starting out but I plan to do cakes as a business in the next couple years (after I get some practice under my belt) but I don't necessarily want just beginner type books. Please tell me which books you use the most for inspiration, techniques, tips, etc.

So far a few that have caught my eye on Amazon are...
Cakes to Dream On by Colette Peters
Colettes Birthday Cakes
The Confetti Cakes Cookbook by Elisa Strauss
Cakes to Inspire and Desire by Lindy Smith
50 Easy Party Cakes by Debbie Brown

Are these books any good? Or do they just look pretty on Amazon? Will I be able to make anything in these books now or are they very advanced? Any others you would recommend?

Thanks so much! I have already learned a bunch of stuff just from reading this forum. I can't wait to get started on my Wilton classes next month!!

10 replies
carol9 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
carol9 Posted 4 Apr 2008 , 10:30pm
post #2 of 11

Besides making cake--you haven't really indicated what you are interested in learning. What is it that you want to learn??

shannonlovebug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shannonlovebug Posted 4 Apr 2008 , 10:48pm
post #3 of 11

mainly wedding and party cakes (tiered and sculpted). Not interested in character/novelty cakes. I do plan to take all 4 Wilton classes if that helps.

carol9 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
carol9 Posted 4 Apr 2008 , 10:58pm
post #4 of 11