What Is The Best Tasting Cake That I Can Carve???

Decorating By amytracy1981 Updated 15 Apr 2008 , 7:27am by MacsMom

amytracy1981 Posted 4 Apr 2008 , 9:24pm
post #1 of 11

What is the best tasting cake that I can carve? I am not really a big fan of pound cake, but if that's what i have to use then I will.
I am making an incredible Hulk cake for my nephew next Saturday and was thinking about making it a carved cake that looked like his forearm and fist. Like the picture below. Any reccomendations for me? I have never done a carved cake before. Also how in the world am I gonna cover it in fondant without the fondant tearing on me??
Should I just do the fist and not the forearm?? What do you guys think??
LL

10 replies
MacsMom Posted 4 Apr 2008 , 9:54pm
post #2 of 11

I don't think it will be hard to cover in fondant, except for gathering around the bottom which can be helped by suspending the cake on a can before covering. Use the side of a straw or paint brush to help define the creases in fingers.

I add a tablespoon of glycerine or corn syrup to MMF to help with pliability, and I've discovered it works just as well when kneaded into Satin Ice. I've even accidentally found out that piping gel works just as well, as piping gel is basically thick corn syrup.

Maybe practice on a Rice Krispy treat model?

You can also try covering the arm and fist separately, and then stack the fist on top.

MacsMom Posted 4 Apr 2008 , 9:59pm
post #3 of 11

Oh, I forgot! For carving I use the WASC recipe but add a box of white chocolate pudding plus 12 oz melted white almond bark (or chocolate for chocolate cake). Don't use Duncan Hines for WASC cakes.

The WASC recipe can be used with any flavor cake/extract combo, but for chocolate I replace 2/3 c flour for 2/3 c cocoa powder and use chocolate pudding.

amytracy1981 Posted 4 Apr 2008 , 11:14pm
post #4 of 11

MacsMom
Thanks!
What size box of pudding should I use? The big one or the small?
Thanks again!