Pricing & Size For Sculpted Cake

Business By MavericksMommy Updated 12 Apr 2008 , 11:30pm by MavericksMommy

MavericksMommy Posted 4 Apr 2008 , 3:52pm
post #1 of 8

I know everybody is always asking how to price things, and I apologize for asking yet another pricing question- I am very new to this price thing and the last time I guessed (the only other cake I sold) I posted what charged and everyone said I undercharged by about 1/2.
I am going to be sculpting a Lightning McQueen cake from 2 8" round layers and I thought I'd do a 1/2 sheet cake underneat for a road. This is for 25-30 people (some children). I have a couple of questions:
1) Is the extra 1/2 sheet too much cake for this amount of people?
2) what should I charge? I have no idea when it comes to pricing carved (and MMF) cake.
This is for a co-worker/friend to take to her Nephew's party but her sister is paying for it.
Thanks for any insight you can give me!
Thanks!

7 replies
tiptop57 Posted 4 Apr 2008 , 4:29pm
post #2 of 8

May I ask.....

You are offering cakes without testing them, timing them or costing out the product? Am I correct in my assumption? Because you are rather new your not sure the size of the cake and how many it will serve, correct?

You're in a pickle. I have some assertive lessons I developed and follow and this would break my rule number four. icon_sad.gif

#4) When you perfect a new design or flavor combo then price it out and add it to your product list. (I'm going to add that after you have been doing this awhile, you will get a better feel for the cost, timing and servings of your product with your new designs and you can forego this practice from time to time.)

So until then, you might want to get a body of work together then offer those styles or similar for sale.

I know my answer didn't help you at the moment but it did bump your question back up and someone else might be able to help you better. icon_smile.gif

costumeczar Posted 4 Apr 2008 , 5:41pm
post #3 of 8