Crumb Coat Anyone?

Decorating By bethneebabe Updated 5 Apr 2008 , 11:47pm by Homemade-Goodies

bethneebabe Posted 4 Apr 2008 , 12:13am
post #1 of 8

So, a lot of books that I look at recommend a crumb coat for BC frosting. I haven't done a crumb coat before and I haven't had problems with crumbs. That being said, I do about one or two cakes a month so I'm not a pro or anything. I was wondering how many people use crumb coats and if I don't have problems with crumbs are there any other advantages?

7 replies
wgoat5 Posted 4 Apr 2008 , 12:37am
post #2 of 8

I no longer use a crumb coat afer doing it the SugarShack way!!! icon_smile.gif

tracey1970 Posted 4 Apr 2008 , 12:50am
post #3 of 8

I don't use a crumb coat. I use the cake icer tip. I love it. I find it puts just the right amount of icing on the cake that you can remove some in the course of smoothing it, but it still leaves a good coat of icing on the cake. Plus, with the cake icer tip, you never actually touch the cake, so stirring up crumbs is virtually impossible.

leily Posted 4 Apr 2008 , 1:07am
post #4 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by tracey1970

I don't use a crumb coat. I use the cake icer tip. I love it. I find it puts just the right amount of icing on the cake that you can remove some in the course of smoothing it, but it still leaves a good coat of icing on the cake. Plus, with the cake icer tip, you never actually touch the cake, so stirring up crumbs is virtually impossible.

Exactly what I was going to say

TexasSugar Posted 4 Apr 2008 , 2:05am
post #5 of 8

I will crumb coat on cakes I carve or cut, because there is usually alot more crumbs to deal with them. And it helps you see the shape of the cake a little better.

I do not crumb coat every cake I do though. And would say if you don't have a crumb problem then just skip it.