Sheet Cake Question

Decorating By jamielittle Updated 8 Apr 2008 , 11:08pm by WendyLaLa

jamielittle Posted 3 Apr 2008 , 11:49pm
post #1 of 22

I have an order for a sheet cake. I've never done one before.

Should I just make the standard 2" cake?

Do I need to torte it?

Thanks,
Jamie

21 replies
diane Posted 3 Apr 2008 , 11:50pm
post #2 of 22

i would do the standard unless they request otherwise. did they specify what size?? icon_confused.gif

indydebi Posted 4 Apr 2008 , 12:15am
post #3 of 22

In my neck of the woods, a sheet cake is expected to be a 2", non-torted, non-filled cake. This may differ in different parts of the country......

bethneebabe Posted 4 Apr 2008 , 12:21am
post #4 of 22

I'm doing a sheet cake for a party next week and it's a 2" and I'm out East.

WendyLaLa Posted 4 Apr 2008 , 12:31am
post #5 of 22

I always do 2 inch filled. I just like cake with filling!!! So I usually offer it!!!! I'm out west in Cali!

linda2530 Posted 4 Apr 2008 , 12:33am
post #6 of 22

I'm in No. Florida and a sheet cake is a 2" and it's not torted and filled. If someone requests it I charge extra. I've been decorating for 22+ years and it's not often that someone requests a torted and filled sheet.

robinscakes Posted 4 Apr 2008 , 12:39am
post #7 of 22

90% of what I do is sheet cakes. I do two layers with filling in between. Most of the grocery stores, Sam's Club, etc. around here do a 2" unfilled. I think that's what most people expect, and I think that they like getting cakes from my bakery because we're different. I'd double check with the customer to be sure.

indydebi Posted 4 Apr 2008 , 12:41am
post #8 of 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by robinscakes

I think that they like getting cakes from my bakery because we're different.

Excellent marketing point! I may have to reconsider how I offer sheet cakes and go this route! thumbs_up.gif

Win Posted 4 Apr 2008 , 12:48am
post #9 of 22