How Many Servings...

Decorating By doreenre Updated 3 Apr 2008 , 3:45pm by cinjam

doreenre Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
doreenre Posted 2 Apr 2008 , 5:01pm
post #1 of 5

...are there in a 9x13 two layer cake that's 4 inches tall? According to Wilton, it's 45, is that true?

DH took a cake I made (the intel cake in my photos) to work and it only fed 25-30.

Do I need to start sending cutting instructions? icon_rolleyes.gif

4 replies
beachcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beachcakes Posted 3 Apr 2008 , 12:35am
post #2 of 5

The 9x13 is an enigma. According to wilton, it serves 45. When I do the math, I get 39. Mind you, I'm not good at math.

That said, most people don't know how to cut a cake and cut big honking slices!

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 3 Apr 2008 , 1:23am
post #3 of 5

agree ... most people cut a cake like they are PMS'ing in front the TV (me? I just pick up the cake and one fork as I walk thru the kitchen! icon_lol.gif )

For square / rectangle cakes, it's easy to do the math .... 1x2x4 is the standard serving size. To achieve this, you'd cut the 9x13 into 9 rows (1") and 6 columns (2"). 9x6 = 54. SOunds like wilton uses the 1.5x2x4, which would result in slightly fewer pieces.

If they got 30 pieces, then they cut this 2-layer cake into 5 rows by 6 columns ... approx 2x2x4. That's roughly the size of a brick. icon_lol.gif

I posted this on another thread earlier, but I had a wedding last weekend where they ordered cake for 125 and only had about 60 show up. I normally cut the cake at my weddings and I use the 1x2x4 size. I get a lot of folks asking for smaller pieces. So at this past wedding, with such a low turnout, I was cutting the pieces much bigger and guests were on the verge of complaining about how big they were.