Handle/spout On Teapot

Decorating By preseliz Updated 2 Apr 2008 , 2:37pm by preseliz

preseliz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
preseliz Posted 1 Apr 2008 , 6:02pm
post #1 of 14

Does anyone have any tips/suggestions on how to get a fondant (MMF)handle/spout to stay attached to a teapot cake? I was assuming using some toothpicks to stick in them and then let them dry and then attach to the cakes. Any thoughts?

I'm a newbie so if there are better ways to do this, let me know!!

Thanks,
Jamie

13 replies
ceshell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ceshell Posted 2 Apr 2008 , 7:19am
post #2 of 14

Toothpicks or even a bamboo skewer, the longer it is the less chance it will fall back out of your cake. Be sure to install the stick into your fondant before letting the fondant dry, or else you won't be able to bore a hole w/out risking breaking your fondant piece! May sound obvious but when I was a newbie I learned this the hard way icon_rolleyes.gif

For the spout I'd even use two skewers, one at the diagonal, one horizontal, so the spout doesn't just spiral around on the pick.

wgoat5 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
wgoat5 Posted 2 Apr 2008 , 10:59am
post #3 of 14

I do as Ceshell does... except I tend to put some gum glue on the toothpick before I insert the stick into the piece. It dries and sticks to everything (I glued my paintbrush to the counter UGHH)

Another thing... make sure you turn your piece at least twice a day so each side can dry.. I have layed my piece on something to dry and not turned it over... the other side didn't get any air which caused it to turn soft on both sides later icon_sad.gif ...

Also when you attach the spout and handle to the cake (if you are using fondant on the cake itself) paint on a little gumglue on the part of the spout and handle that will be touching the cake and that will help hold it into place... you can kind of support it by placing something underneath it till it dries...

HTH's

Christi