Ummm... Should I Be Worried???

Business By Feefs Updated 11 Jan 2007 , 2:43am by Cakerer

Feefs Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Feefs Posted 9 Jan 2007 , 9:57am
post #1 of 43

Hi all
I just got an email from a person for a cake order enquiry... this all she wrote:

Hello there

Can you please tell me where you are located?
I'm interested in obtaining a quotation.

Kind regards

Gemma Campbell
Senior Policy Officer
Population Health Policy Branch
Health Policy and Clinical Reform
Department of Health (WA)

would you be worried??? I'm only a hobbyist and never worried about getting permits etc -- not a common thing over here to do -- DH reckons it could just be a legit enquiry but worries me all the same!! what do you think???

-- Fi

42 replies
crouton800 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
crouton800 Posted 9 Jan 2007 , 10:28am
post #2 of 43

Hi Feefs,
yeah, i'd be worried too! but let's not get too anxious. It could very well be a legitimate enquiry. She only wants to know your location. Maybe because she'd like to know how far your place is if she is collecting the cake. So just give her a suburb/area. You don't have to give her your street or address just yet as she has not confirmed any order. If she only wants to know how far your place is from hers, the area/suburb will suffice.

Jennifer353 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jennifer353 Posted 9 Jan 2007 , 11:00am
post #3 of 43

I would agree with crouton800, don't get over anxious for now but give her a suburb/region.
... surely she would have erased her title, etc if it was going to be a covert investigation? Perhaps she just sent it from a work email account which automatically puts in the details?

tammylenz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tammylenz Posted 9 Jan 2007 , 11:12am
post #4 of 43

I was thinking the same as Jennifer. If I was going to investigate someone or something I surely would not let them know it. I would have erased all the mumbo jumbo at the end of the e-mail.