Cake Job..interviewing??, Pay???

Decorating By sweetcravings Updated 30 Mar 2008 , 5:02pm by Kitagrl

sweetcravings Posted 29 Mar 2008 , 2:28pm
post #1 of 6

Just wondering from those who have applied for jobs at cake shops etc.. what was your experience. Did they have you decorate a cake? What kind of question did they ask? What is the pay range for cake decorators?
The thought of looking for an outside cake job scares me. I'm self taught. I have kept a pretty detailed album of most the cakes and cookies i've made in the past. But i know i'm not as fast as some people and I still have issues with smoothing..thus i use a crusting buttercream and paper towels to get a nice finish and i still have issues with making a nice rose. I would be terrified if someone watched and critiqued me while i did a cake. Up until this point i thought i would start something out of my house...BUT..a call to the local health unit told me i'm not legally allowed to bake out of my house and sell the goods. So i'm struggling with pursuing the home business thingy illegally OR apply to a cake shop or grocer. I think i fear the interview process so much because i've never woked in that environment before and i have no idea what to expect from the whole thing.
I'd love to hear your experiences.

5 replies
kakeladi Posted 29 Mar 2008 , 4:18pm
post #2 of 6

Focus on your *strengths*.
<...Did they have you decorate a cake? What kind of question did they ask? What is the pay range for cake decorators?...>

I worked at 2 bakeries before opening my own. One did have me decorate a cake, the other, not.
?s asked will vary by the person asking themicon_sad.gif
The might want to know how long you have been decorating? Ask to see your pix... and want to know if you can handle certain techniques they focus their style of decorating on.
Pay range is going to be all over the place too...but generally I hear the going rate is in the neighborhood of $9/hr.