What To Doctor Red Velvet Mix With? :)

Baking By MeMo07 Updated 15 Apr 2008 , 2:04am by michellenj

MeMo07 Posted 28 Mar 2008 , 12:06am
post #1 of 6

This is my first time posting (after lurking for weeks!), so, I hope I'm in the right spot- LOL.

I tried searching, but half the ones I tried to open wouldn't work, so I'm sorry if it's been asked a million times. icon_smile.gif

I have 3 boxes of red velvet cake mix- I'm going to be making a stacked sheet cake for my grandfathers birthday, and I want it to be fabulous, but I'm way too scared to try the cake from scratch- and I don't have time to experiment, since his birthday is Saturday! (And I was just informed I would be making the cake, since I've just now started trying to make cakes! icon_smile.gif)

So, to wind this rambling post down, I've got vanilla pudding, chocolate pudding, cheesecake pudding, and some cream cheese- would any of these enhance the recipe? I've also got milk, sour cream, oil, and applesauce, any of which I could add in.

5 replies
sarahnichole975 Posted 28 Mar 2008 , 12:48am
post #2 of 6

When I make mine from the box I use buttermilk as the scratch recipe calls for it. Since you don't have buttermilk, I searched and found these substitutions for buttermilk for you. Hope it helps.

⢠1 cup buttermilk = 1 cup yogurt
⢠1 cup buttermilk = 1 cup milk PLUS 1 Tbsp vinegar or lemon juice (let stand for 10 minutes before using in recipe)
⢠1 cup buttermilk = 1 cup milk PLUS 1-3/4 teaspoons cream of tartar
⢠1 cup buttermilk = 1 cup water PLUS 4 Tbsp powdered buttermilk
(reconstitute before using or add dry to dry ingredients and wet to wet ingredients before mixing
⢠1 cup buttermilk = 1/4 cup milk PLUS 3/4 cup yogurt

craftyone65 Posted 28 Mar 2008 , 12:51am
post #3 of 6