How Do I Get Good Cake Photos?

Decorating By Bossy Updated 29 Mar 2008 , 2:10pm by Bossy

Bossy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bossy Posted 27 Mar 2008 , 11:35pm
post #1 of 9

My cake pictures I take to post are not very good. How can I take better pictures?

Liz

8 replies
kettlevalleygirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kettlevalleygirl Posted 27 Mar 2008 , 11:42pm
post #2 of 9

I am not an expert, but I will help get this started!!
I have a digital camera....
I don't use a flash, don't know why but, it doesn't work with a flash.
I use a dark towel, Navy, and also, I have dark drapes, so I place the cake on a dining room table and use the towel or the curtains as a back drop....not the best, but for now...

veejaytx Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
veejaytx Posted 27 Mar 2008 , 11:52pm
post #3 of 9

I agree that your background is very important, and should be complimentary to your cake colors. No flash is best, natural lighting is much more flattering.

One thing I have learned with my digital camera is to take the photo further away (not trying to get so much of a closeup) but with a high resolution, and then cropping to get your closeup for uploading and/or printing.

HTH a little. Janice

KitchenKat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KitchenKat Posted 28 Mar 2008 , 12:02am
post #4 of 9

I use the macro button on my digital camera. It's usually the flower symbol on the dial or menu keys. Within reason this function darkens everything but the subject. I put my cake on a very dark table and shoot from an angle.

gandelmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gandelmom Posted 28 Mar 2008 , 12:03am
post #5 of 9

this is what I learned:

take picture in the morning next to a window-the light coming in should be behind you-
DO NOT use a flash-

KathleenR Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KathleenR Posted 28 Mar 2008 , 12:53am
post #6 of 9