$50 Cake For 50 People

Decorating By dmaam Updated 9 Jan 2007 , 5:46pm by swingme83

dmaam Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dmaam Posted 8 Jan 2007 , 2:31pm
post #1 of 16

I am a newbie to this cake decorating world... But, I got a call, yesterday, for a cake that she wants on Tuesday... the short notice is fine since no one is beating down my door for a cake since I just got started... Anyway, to me I think that wanting to only spend $50 for a cake that is suppose to feed 50 people - she should have gone to Wal-Mart. But, then again, I am not familiar at all on what to charge on any cake.

Here is my question... will a 2 layered - 12in. round cake pan feed 50 people? Being that each layer is 1 1/2in. thick?

Thank you for your time on my problem.

Michelle

15 replies
SweetResults Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetResults Posted 8 Jan 2007 , 2:45pm
post #2 of 16

Wilton party servings guide says a double layer 12" round (2" layers) will serve 40 people. If you do a search of this site you will find servings vary from person to person. As a general guide I take the wilton party servings and the wilton wedding servings and average the amount. I start my pricing at $2.50 per serving, but have been known to do simple sheet cakes for less.

Good Luck!

MomLittr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MomLittr Posted 8 Jan 2007 , 2:49pm
post #3 of 16

For $50, all they would get from me (especially with short notice), is a simply decorated half sheet cake.

Jenn123 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jenn123 Posted 8 Jan 2007 , 6:02pm
post #4 of 16

I agree! I would do a simple sheet cake for this price.

dmaam Posted 8 Jan 2007 , 6:07pm
post #5 of 16

I do not have a 1/2 sheet pan. Where can I get one on short notice? Does Wal-Mart carry them?

2sdae Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2sdae Posted 8 Jan 2007 , 6:23pm
post #6 of 16